“a gentle eminence”

November 30, 2011

I think I have found the title for my project, taken from the travel writings of  G.W. Manby Esquire of Hotwells, Clifton (1802).  He describes LLanwern as, “an elegant mansion, seated on an eminence, decorated with all the appendages to denote a residence of distinction, and to render it an interesting and pleasing object to the traveller...” How fabulous is that?

Mr Manby’s book was just one of the treasures I discovered during my two days at the National Library of Wales in Aberystwyth…  What a joy, spending hours away from Facebook, mobile phones and general noise.  All I could hear around was the occasional beep of a laptop being switched on and the pages of 17th century tomes turning.  Yes – 17th century!

I found images of Lord Rhondda with his prize bulls and discovered that early owners had to lease the house to pay off debts.  At times I allowed myself to drift off and imagine a path for myself that included years of detailed detective work: I am currently trying out the sound of Dr Fotheringham, PhD…

Sadly, and for some unfathomable reason I can’t post any pics…

In the last week, I’ve also been to the National Trust Archives in Swindon and had some fantastic contact with Country Life magazine…  The research is growing and growing…

 

 

Leave a Reply

