The ‘Spot’ Project – Code word, ‘Red’

March 8, 2009

This brief is meant to challenge our imaginations, to see how we as photographers interpret our word and what we make from it.  As my eyes ran through the list on Clive’s screen, I immediately started thinking of projects for Travel, Identity, Home and Love; scribbled notes in the back of my little black book are a testiment to this.  The one word I didn’t want, was typically, the word that I got: Red.

I’ve had a few ideas, but to be honest, none of them are exciting me at the moment and tomorrow, I need to present two in the seminar.  Short of praying for divine intervention or taking mind-enhancing drugs, I am not sure what to do now…

Red.  In the red; my love is like a red, red rose; red is passion, anger, hatred, sex; red is danger, excitement; red is the colour of the signs that tell you what not to do, how not to drive; as Claire pointed out, red is the colour of the earth; it is the colour of the blood that pumps around our veins (well, when it hits the air anyway.) The Red Cross, The Red Crescent, The Red Brigade.  Red is one of my favourite colours.  Argh.  I need a project that is not trite, nor superficial.

Watch this space.

Leave a Reply

